First situation where being single has been beneficial to me. There is a whole world to see.

Over the past year I have had the opportunity to add a new location to the places that I have lived, and will be adding one more in just over three months. .  After realizing that there wasn’t any good reason for me to stay in the town I was living, I (very quickly) started to look into any options to get me away from there. Not too long before, my mum and her husband had moved to a neighbouring province, so I looked into what I would be able to do with myself there. Within a month I put in my transfer for work, got myself applied and accepted into college, and moved away.

As I have previously mentioned, I am currently finishing up my 1st year of the 2-year Tourism Management program, which wouldn’t have been an option if I hadn’t moved. From this program, which requires 600 hours of co-op (paid, thank goodness), I managed to secure myself a position with a very-well established hotel/resort company at one of their locations in Alberta. I would have never have had this opportunity if I hadn’t made the decision to move a year ago.

Being single allowed me to make these choices for myself with ease. While I could have done all of this while in a relationship, if I had ended up dating someone, I probably would have never decided to take the steps to pursue a career, to move to where I am now and have this wonderful opportunity. I would have had to factor another person into my choice, which wouldn’t have made this transition as easy.

Being single allowed me to focus on my future when it matter most.

Leave a comment